Let’s Meat for Coffee

I’ve consumed a lot of meat this week. All-you-can-eat’s on two occasions and Wednesday night I went ham – no, ‘I went meat’ on expensive short ribs. All the while, I’m reconnecting with a Hyung who has shown me a lot of favor during my stay in NY- he’s in LA on some terms and HIS hyung flies in thereafter to rest with his fiance.

They’re into coffee. Alver in Korea is poppin’. With several floors occupying the heart of Gangnam, their presence is known and the scent of their beans attracts 5 THOUSAND customers on a given Saturday. That’s a lot of espresso and milk.

Each of our coffee and meal conversations included the subject line: “Sejin, come to Korea”. It wasn’t a remark they were willing to let go easily and it forced me to really investigate if I can go – yeah, there are barriers that prevent me from easily entering Korea and coming back.

For starters, I still hold my Korean citizenship, but I have papers indicating that I am exempt from mandatory military service until year 2027. By then, my age will be enough to tell my motherland that I’m too old to train militarily. But let’s say I really want to go now and want to avoid the military at the same time; there’s a way but it’s still complicated. If I’m to make any monetary profit during my time in Korea, I can’t stay past 60 days within one year. Yet that’s still enough for my Hyung’s to echo their commitment to help me when I come.

There’s a lot of strategy involved – but I’m telling the Lord to let the plans crumble if they aren’t appointed in His divine promise for His kingdom come in my life. Lord, you author in the most creative ways.

Leave a Reply

