I’m Lovin’ It

I have stepped into my 23rd year excited and consumed by the fragrance of His offering. To highlight the end of my 22nd year I’ll recognize a few things: LA Model’s runway division decided to shrink their men’s board in light of their clients’ decreasing budgets- runway favors girls a lot more. In addition, I thought I lost an element of opportunity when a clothing company from Seattle decided not to use me for a month long print booking which would have amounted to $10K – 15K and the freedom to travel within its coffe-inspired borders throughout February.

However, all along, God was watching my back:

I booked a pop star role within a Phoenix music video; who knew that would spark so much interest in my niche of friends? When I think of Phoenix, the first word that pops up into my mind is “Suns”. The casting director working for this video asked me if she could put my name into Levi’s.  Inspected by the Levi’s committee, I will soon have a fitting with them. In addition, I just received news that I have been booked for a McDonald’s commercial- Spicy McChicken sandwich, I will love you forever. With provision and favor, I echo the words of my Armenian friend from YMCA- “It’s a God-given miracle in itself to get any audition in this industry”. My experience in the past few months confirm this truth; it’s only by His grace that I remain protected and caste from darkness into the light.

I’m approaching two years dry of a standard lecture and barren of studying for school. In the midst of new found blessings, I pocket another relief: UC Irvine Law didn’t reject me! From a LSAT score of 143 to 157, they’ve decided to waitlist me this time around. UC Irvine is my top choice among the list of Pepperdine and UC Hastings that I will consider this March-deadline applications. The dilemma remains and the quest for the answer burns- what should I do? I introspectively want what’s best for me and for my parents; my parents sing law school into my ears while I have found peace entering an unknown industry connecting with lost people. And when my parents see the McDonald’s commercial, I’m not sure if they’ll end up singing, “I’m lovin’ It”. IMAG0208

Jesus,

I’m lovin’ it. I thank you that I am not wait listed from your plans nor wait listed from your mighty love. Law school seems like a good option for me; I’ve always love to learn and you know this because I always excite to learn more about you. May my thoughts about law-school not transform into a pretentious pun- that my love for you is not a law more than it is my genuine affection to seek my Maker. While, law school remains at a pause, I continue to thank you that in an industry swarmed for bare acknowledgment and the trampling of a God-given image for plastic photo shop, modeling and acting can be an avenue for me to see your true beauty.

Leave a Reply

