Mind Games

If there is any compelling reason to write a blog, this particular one stems from the one-two punch of my pastor’s sermon yesterday and the always so- convicting Charles Spurgeon:

From the non- Christian to the polar opposite, I find myself often “quantifying the situation”. The situation is the circumstantial and contextual ranging from what is possible to what is impossible – again, the notions which we have come to quantify ourselves through our dwarfed experience and reason. We tend to discard formulas which have never been proven- not proven because it’s HARD and it doesn’t make SENSE. This mathematical WORD problem that is the basis of our struggle not with sin, but rather our struggle to read His word and live out His word through prayer and action.  So we end up binding our struggles to the situation; we add the two together and find ourselves only able to answer the primitive nature of faith without exploring the boundaries of multiplying what God has shown us to be possible with a stone-calloused heart- a sinner who comes to repentance: a sinner to saint and more importantly a non-believer to a BELIEVER.

I often quantify those worth serving to those who are not worth serving which highlight my foundations of not caring enough. In addition, I quantify whether healing is possible- sure, his sprained ankle will get better with time, but can I factor Jesus into this equation? His sprained ankle will get better right now = Jesus’s mighty name. And so it is with each new person that I meet and each new encounter that I have (for a lack of a more complex thought), judging incessantly and therefore, applying my own terms to the equation. So Spurgeon helps counsel my mind games with the following:

David might have said, “I am a shepherd, and I can fight with lions, but I was never trained to war, and therefore I had better let this Philistine alone.” To continue, “Brethren, if we have achieved success by the power of God, let us not dote upon some supposed adaptation, but stand prepared to be used of the Lord in any other way which he may choose.”

Therefore, instead of quantifying, “Prove your qualifications by bringing Goliath’s head back with you, and no further questions will be asked by any one, or by yourself.”

Leave a Reply

