Glory

I made the game winning layup. It was me! Can I prove it?  

Saturday afternoon, I met up with my former club basketball team; with the players present as well as their respective parents, we shared food and laughs as talks of the past drew special memories and conversations of the future depicted successful journeys ahead. After watching our last commemorative banquet that forever sealed a chapter within the Venice Hawks’ book, we furthered our night by watching some games. To summarize a pinnacle moment in our Hawks’ history, we watched the championship game- Hawks vs. Associates. I thought, “YES”! If there is a joy that captured my years with the Hawks, it’d be precisely THIS game!

I MADE THE GAME WINNING SHOT.

The score was tied 44-44 and with the clock closing down to 10 seconds, Coach Mark called timeout as we planned to execute our last play to perfection. ABRUPTLY, THE GAME FILM THEN SHOWS us up 46-44 with 1 second remaining. WHAT?!!!!!!!

WHAT HAPPENED TO MY GAME WINNING BASKET? It was MY precious moment!

Next day at church, it had occurred to me that the video camera’s lapse of concentration was more than a simple error: it was a revelation. How often to do I miss out on God’s glory? He’s waiting for me to move glory to glory; yet, I keep Him stuck in between- in between my guilt to joy and shame to forgiveness- He wants me to “Just Walk”, but I’m stationed on the stairs of life. More than once, I’ve intentionally deleted His glory from my life; It’s HIS precious moment! WHY AM I PREVENTING HIM FROM MANIFESTING GLORY IN MY LIFE? Lord, you deserve all glory and praise- sometimes in my foolishness, I cut the game tape from displaying Your kingdom come and Your will be done; I want to see you score in my life; I want to see your Glory.

Leave a Reply

