Bobblehead

I collected a Bobblehead in last month’s Dodger’s game and my mom let it out of its neck brace recently. Along with my unamused stare comes its creepy over sized head bobbling its same facial expression towards my direction. It’s a little more responsive than the virtual Siri, such as when I ask Mr. Karros, “Did you wet your pants when you were a child?” “When you were ten years old?” In its unoffended look, it bobbles its head back “Yes”. Yeah, that’s right Siri. Until you learn how to look at your peer in his or her eye while talking, you won’t earn my respect.

Years back, I also shook my head inspired to find out that the real Mr. Karros is Christian. So to get our  relationship flowing on good terms, I asked its figure and heavy wood set, “When did you accept Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior?” Thinking that his memory is vague I asked the same-stanced Mr. Karros, “Do you having a loving relationship with the Lord?” He bobbles,”Yes”. While the conversation ends on strictly a “Yes or No” basis, I sit the doll on the edge of my table as I sit in my bed thinking in “Total Recall” – that my body is not carved wood, nor is my mind a mindless Bobblehead, and most importantly nor is my heart shaved callously within a doll-like structure.

In His image I was made; His Trinitarian composition defines who I am- that I was created within a people called Family and in a placed called Home for a thing called Love. I embody the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit and while I am not sufficient for Him to accept my praise and worship, He does so anyways because He knows elements of His glory will give me joy and peace. Lord, I am in a season of understanding that to receive your glory, I must give you glory- that I would display you as “the only reason I keep on coming home” – that I would display your glory through my thoughts and actions. The correct choices that I make do bring glory to your name- not as a means to get you to bobble your head with satisfaction or for a bobble of more blessings, but as a way for me to know that our relationship is loving and real.

Leave a Reply

