Failure is part of my biography, but failure is not my identity. Even through my shortcomings- it’s the COMING to Christ action that is important when we fall SHORT. On July 2nd, I started fresh as a paralegal assistant- filling out forms and preparing documents that I have never seen before prior to that Monday; However, as of July 11th, I was let go; through minor errors and the presentation of imperfection I had to see my way out the door. While grasping onto unexpected news, I walked on Crenshaw choking on the tears of my brief learning experience. Reflecting at the nearest Tom N Tom’s for 30 minutes, I was bound for another spurt. I googled and found other law offices in the area,  and set route to my next interview. After my interview, I stood in front of a huge office building and ventured to set my eyes on its directory. My conscience brandished me to the excitement of seeing a swarm of law offices listed on each floor. I used the elevator as my physical friend and the Holy Spirit as my spiritual friend- I was bright about my chances.

Walking through the corridors of life are hard, and failure is the experience of opening the wrong doors, but failure is the failure to let go of failure (I just had to say it). I could only imagine how hard it must be for those who don’t walk in His presence, and for those who let failure lure them in to the possibility of the unknown- that the Known is hidden by the lies and manipulative tales of the Unknown- that King Jesus wants to be Known in their lives, but the Undercover Devil is the Unknown that they navigate through their failures. Lord, my first scent of morning is not failure, and my last breath of night is not failure; failure is not my identity, it’s just history.

Leave a Reply

