His Presence

Having gotten my first smartphone, I’m taking advantage of the resources-well, free resources.

I have never seen nor read The Christmas Carol, but I am doing the latter now.

From page 20, I quote:

“You don’t believe in me,” observed the Ghost.

“I don’t.” said Scrooge.

“What evidence would you have of my reality, beyond that of your senses?”

“I don’t know,” said Scrooge.

“Why do you doubt your senses?”

“Because,” said Scrooge, “a little thing affects them. A slight disorder of the stomach makes them cheats.  You may be an undigested bit of beef, a blot of mustard, a crumb of cheese, a fragment of an underdone potato.  There’s more of gravy than of grave about you, whatever you are!”

Scrooge was not much in the habit of cracking jokes, nor did he feel, in his heart, by any means waggish then.  The truth is, that he tried to be smart, as a means of distracting his own attention, and keeping down his terror; for the spectre’s voice disturbed the very marrow in his bones.

I reflect with the following:

I had once possessed an intimate fear- not to honor God, but the horror of confronting my sinful nature before Him. Unsure of who He was, although my very core insisted that He was worthy of praise, I was scared to admit that there was something greater than I on this earth. He gave me portions of His grace daily- it was very much undeserved, but He was working in me before I had said, “Yes, Lord, take all of me”. It was the very marrow of my bones that shook violently when I encountered His presence. I had once doubted my senses, but seeing His goodness, fell into His arms like a little child.


Leave a Reply

