Mr. Fred Rogers

It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood,
A beautiful day for a neighbor,
Would you be mine?
Could you be mine?

It’s a neighborly day in this beautywood,
A neighborly day for a beauty,
Would you be mine?
Could you be mine?

I have always wanted to have a neighbor just like you,
I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you.

So let’s make the most of this beautiful day,
Since we’re together, we might as well say,
Would you be mine?
Could you be mine?
Won’t you be my neighbor?

Won’t you please,
Won’t you please,
Please won’t you be my neighbor?

This past week, I lashed out against my mom in ways that I know will not constitute a healthy relationship. It frequently happens because I’ve built pet peeves against what she does. I feel like 99% of the world will find her to be crazy and that 1% of supporters are people like her.

Trust me, I know the right response, and I know what I should do. “Sejin, there are a lot of things you do that would piss other people off; Jesus loves you for who you are, so love your Mom the same way”.

 

Damit, Sejin! I know the right thing to do. HOWEVER IT IS SO HARD!

I pondered this thought this week: I’m envious of those who are so patient.

I love the idea of patience, yet I don’t know how to truly apply it in my life.

I felt the love of Christ speak to me through Mr. Roger’s biography. I fell in love with His testimony, and His desire to pursue God on a daily basis. I wish the pages kept going! The book is succinct, yet it’s Mr. Roger’s application of love unto others that makes this book such a keeper.

 

As my pastor says, “We call others special because we are afraid to pursue that kind of love”. I will not call Mr. Rogers special because I feel like Jesus has anointed me with the ability to love others as well.

How willing am I to pursue love with unending patience? If anything, I don’t know if I’ve ever applied sustained patience in my life. It must be the season to learn.

 

OH LORD, send more neighbors along the way. I need more practice.
Leave a Reply

